Coffee and Donut Anyone?

It’s that time of the year again Halloween. One of my favorite days of the year when you get to be your most creative and play dress up.  End of October is always a busy one. I need to come up with 2 costumes in less than a week and a 1/2. How do I always end up waiting until the last minute? Ekkk… I normally come up with an idea for my next costume a year in advance so that I can mentally prep myself. My husbie Joe had this idea of dressing up as a cup of Joe for quite a while now. This year I will grant him his wish. He’s always been the most supportive person and such a great sport, going along with all my crazy ideas. What better companion to a cup of coffee than a lovely donut? I did some research and this coffee and donut theme really looked unattractive. Until, I came across Donutella a Tokidoki donut inspired character that’s fueled by sugar. She’s wayyyyyy too CUTE. I just fell in love with her world. Using the NYC iconic blue coffee cup as my inspiration for my cup of Joe, I’m finally enticed enough to get started.
This past week I’ve been circling the fabric shops to find all the material I’ll need. I’m not completely done yet, but I have a good amount of supplies to get started.
What do you think of my donut accessories? Felt sprinkles and a heart shaped skull headpiece. Kinda blinged it out just a bit ^_”
I just finished putting together my donut ears. Next step: frosting and sprinkle time! Stay tuned to see how it all turns out.

4 thoughts on “Coffee and Donut Anyone?

  1. Hey! I’m a big tokidoki fan and am planning on making a donutella costume to double-purpose for comic con and halloween. Would love to see how yours turned out. 🙂 Looks like it was coming together really cool!

    • Hi Vanessa, I used a stiff interlining around the hood edge to help stabilize the donuts. It was probable around 3 ” wide. Then I hand tacked the front and the back of the donut ears to make sure they didn’t move around too much. Hope this is helpful.

Leave a Reply

