It’s All About Pumpkins

This past weekend I challenged myself with the pumpkin I picked up from the farm. I found some great recipes online and wanted to make everything from scratch. I started with creating my own pumpkin puree. It was my 1st time making it. My medium size pumpkin yielded 6.5 cups. Not bad! 2 cups for the pie, 2.5 cups for the soup and I saved 2 cups in the freezer for later use.

I picked up a cookbook  1 stock 100 soups a while ago when Border’s was going out of business and decided to find a pumpkin soup recipe from there. This one sounded so good: Bacon Pumpkin Soup with Bacon Croutons. It was quite satisfying. As the weather is getting cooler, it’s nice to have something warm and comforting. It went quickly. I was hoping there would be some left overs. Next time I’ll have to double the measurements. Are you ready for a pumpkin challenge?

Leave a Reply

