A Crisp Fall

It’s that time of the year to visit the pumpkin patch. It was actually a spur of the moment decision since we had a free afternoon. I’ve also been meaning to bake a pumpkin pie from scratch and wanted to pick out my own pumpkin instead of using canned puree.
It was drizzling lightly and a bit nippy so I decided to layer up. Excited that it’s hat season!
I was a bit underwhelmed with Queens County Farm’s pumpkin patch. Their pumpkins were laid out on an empty field rather than freshly grown and still attached to vines. Their apples were in bins instead of hanging off trees. I guess I should have expected it. It’s a little farm in Queens, what more can I ask for? I’m just happy I got myself a pumpkin! Although, it’s a great little farm for the kids. There’s a section where children can interact with farm animals. They can feed and pet sheep, piglets, goats and ride ponies. I do encourage you to visit the farm for other reasons. There are so many great events that are held there and why not support the community?

Leave a Reply

